alg-hyper-kids-jpgADHD: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity

The symptoms of ADHD are divided into three subtypes:  1-Inattentive 2- Hyperactive and 3- Combination Type.

In the new Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Psychiatric Disorders -DSM-5 published by the American Psychiatric Association the same 18 symptoms continue to be divided into these 2 subtypes in which at least 6 in one domain are required for the diagnosis of a specific subtype in children and adolescents.

Among the changes are the requirement that several symptoms were present prior to age 12 whereas formerly it was prior to age 7.

Only 5 symptoms are required in adults for a diagnosis of both I attention and hyperactivity.
It is now required that several symptoms occur in each of several settings.

Categories: Family/Child/Teen/TherapyTags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: